Why State bar downtown?

For the last few months I have been desperately trying to get a space in downtown Houston to have a pop up in. The downturn economy has left dozens of empty retail spaces. These spaces are not only interesting and unique, they are also historical and falling into disrepair. If you are familiar with Downtown Houston, then you have already seen the trend with most of these buildings off Main Street;trendy night club, turned into vacant velvet couched bat cave.I am hoping to attract the attention of downtown developers by not only telling them it is possible to attract people to that area but showing them. To show them them the beneficial service that a pop up can offer. I find it pointless for these empty spaces to just sit around, when they could be used to expose the local arts, stimulate the surrounding economy and ultimately rented out to potential renters/buyers.
I would love to attract a stable and creative industry to this area.This is reason number one for this popup. Reason two is to showcase some wonderful art. Reason three is to have a drunken, fantastic party.
-E
As many of you know, I don’t get paid for my popups, I am just really obsessed with not only Houston, but the Houston Arts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment